Friday, July 18, 2014

Rope of Sand by C. F. Dunn

Two years ago through Kregel Publications, I was introduced to The Secret of the Journal series by C.F. DunnI eagerly dove into the first book, Mortal Fire  and last year I was excited to read the second book, Death Be Not Proud.  

It's been a LONG year waiting for Rope of Sand  
by C. F. Dunn but it's finally here!   

ISBN-10: 1782640878
  • ISBN-13: 978-1782640875

  • Genre: Romance/ Mystery/ Thriller

Rope of Sand by C. F. Dunn finds Emma D'Ersby, a British historian and Matthew Lines, a gifted American surgeon on their way to Maine to meet Matthew's family.  Emma, now knowing Matthew's secret of seeming immortality believes she is ready for this next step. Everything they have been through together has lead to this moment. (Please note: this is NOT a vampire series).

As Emma is introduced to Matthew's family, she faces varying degrees of acceptance and finds out even more of the family's secrets. Her eyes are open to the reality of what it is like to live a life in hiding and the comprehension of what that may entail is overwhelming. 

In addition, some of Matthew's family make it very clear that she is not welcome. To what extent will they go to get rid of her?   

Will it all be too much for Emma?  

Rope of Sand was so worth waiting for!  I eagerly started reading and was instantly immersed in Emma and Matthew's world.  I don't normally read mystery/thrillers but since it involved romance and as Ms. Dunn weaves such an intoxicating mix of all three, I found that I couldn't put this book (or this series) down till I finished it. This book has a thoroughly engaging story that leaves you wanting more when it ends!

What did I like the most? 

I appreciated following the progression of Emma and Matthew's relationship as it developed throughout this story.

I enjoyed learning more about Matthew and his past as well as meeting his family.  In the prior books, his personal life and family were referred to but largely remained hidden in the shadows.

Another thing I enjoyed was the suspense that escalated throughout this book - it made for exciting reading! 

Some thoughts to share ... 

I came away with some ethical issues to ponder which I am sure the author wished her readers to have.  

Emma and Matthew's relationship is based on their love and strong faith but how ethical and moral is it to live with lies, hidden secrets and agendas?  How strong can a relationship be built upon that type of foundation?  

What are the moral implications of falling in love with someone while you are committed to another regardless of the reasons? 

Wrapping it up ...

Rope of Sand  is book three of The Secrets of the Journal series but can be enjoyed as a stand a lone read. The beginning of the book shares a brief overview of the prior two books and really helps to bring the reader up to speed with the story line.  

Be warned though - once you've read one of the books, you may not be able to stop yourself from reading them  all! 

Many thanks to Kregel Publications for the opportunity to review this book in exchange for a review that reflects my honest opinions and reflections in my experience of reading this book. 

Wednesday, July 2, 2014

An Independent Female Doctor ~ A Lone Star Texas Ranger and the 1893 Chicago World's Fair...

It's the perfect combination for anything to happen and in Fair Play: A Novel~
it most certainly does!  


  • ISBN-10: 1451692412

  • ISBN-13: 978-1451692419

  • Billy Tate, MD and Hunter Scott, Texas Ranger meet at the Chicago World's Fair in a rather unusual manor and their subsequent meetings just get even more interesting.  

  • Can two independent souls with very different dreams find a love and a future that they didn't believe they would ever have?  

  • Add into the mix an abandoned baby and the story gets down right lively!

While reading Fair Play: A Novel by Deeanne Gist I laughed my way through the first chapter. It was hilarious!  The story just kept getting better  and better.

Ms. Gist writes a captivating romance story set to the background of the 1893 Chicago World's Fair. Her writing brings it all to life but this story is about so much more! 

It explores the topic of the woman's movement as well as children's rights and explores the poverty levels of the inner city poor back in the late 1890's.  It shows how the severe poverty of that era affected families, children and sadly, how it shaped the lives of the children caught in those horrific conditions.  

It was not what I would expect from a romance novel but in my opinion, it made the story so much more real and inspiring.  I enjoyed the authentic period photographs and captions she listed at the start of each chapter as well. 

Ms. Gist's writing wove it all into an elaborate but down home story of love, life, faith and overcoming life's challenges.  

My final thoughts on this book?  

My favorite Texas saying comes to mind ~

"Ain't that the berries!"
Translated, that means I thoroughly enjoyed Fair Play: A Novel.  I look forward to reading more of Deeanne Gists' books including the sequel to this book,   It Happened At the Fair

If you love romance novels, history and a positively good roller coaster ride of emotions, this book is for you!

Many thanks to Kim from Nancy Berland Public relations and Deeanne Gist, author for the opportunity to review this book. My review is an honest reflection of my feelings and thoughts in regard to this book. 

The End Series ~ Waiting on Wednesday

The End Series


Release Date: July 29, 2014

Click on the links below to read more about each of the books in this book bundle