Sunday, February 28, 2016

The Smell of Other People's Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

 http://www.amazon.com/Smell-Other-Peoples-Houses/dp/0553497782/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457049342&sr=8-1&keywords=the+smell+of+other+people%27s+houses


  • ISBN-10: 0553497782
  • ISBN-13: 978-0553497786
  • Hardcover: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Wendy Lamb Books (February 23, 2016)



Synopsis:

In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn’t like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.
Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed. 




I found The Smell of Other People's Houses  to be slightly dark, emotionally evocative and is one of the most engaging books I've read so far this year!

Ms. Hitchcock did a superb job of describing life in Alaska 1970's and all that teenagers (and adults) faced during that time. The characters were engaging, realistic and the plot was sometimes heart-warming and at other times gut-wrenchingly sad.   

This story just blew me away and it had a pretty big impact  on me. I  can't quite seem to let thisstory go even though I finished it over a week ago. I have a feeling it will be staying with me for a bit while I sort out my thoughts and emotions about it.   


4.5 Stars!



  • Thank you to Wendy Lamb Books and Netgalley for the gift of this book in exchange for an honest review.

No comments: