Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes

  • Series: Queen of Hearts (Book 1)
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (May 3, 2016)
  • ISBN-10: 0062409727
  • ISBN-13: 978-0062409720


The first novel in Colleen Oakes’s epic, imaginative series tells the origin of one of the most infamous villains—the Queen of Hearts.
This is not the story of the Wonderland we know. Alice has not fallen down a rabbit hole. This is a Wonderland where beneath each smile lies a secret, each tart comes with a demand, and only prisoners tell the truth.
Dinah is the princess who will one day reign over Wonderland. She has not yet seen the dark depths of her kingdom; she longs only for her father’s approval and a future with the boy she loves. But when a betrayal breaks her heart and threatens her throne, she is launched into Wonderland’s dangerous political game. Dinah must stay one step ahead of her cunning enemies or she’ll lose not just the crown but her head.

I enjoy reading re-telling of fairy tales and Queen of Hearts by Colleen Oakes creates a hole new spin on the beloved Alice in Wonderland story.   

Wonderland is an amazing place full of both beauty and darkness. In this engaging story we find Dinah, a young princess on the cusp of womanhood soon to become the Queen of the Hearts.  We get a glimpse into her life, relationships, triumphs and challenges that allows us a glimpse into the events, relationships and choices that helped mold this young girl into the older version of the Queen that we know so well.  

Queen of Hearts is a delightful, refreshing though  dark story and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.  The story had me spellbound from start to finish. 

The characters were engaging and I delighted in exploring the familiar  as well as the new in this creative novel. I can't wait to read the next book in this series!

4 Stars!

Thank you to HarperTeen and Edelweiss for the gift of this book in exchange for an honest review. 

No comments: