Wednesday, February 22, 2017

The Young Wives Club by Julie Pennell



  • ISBN-10: 1501136461
  • ISBN-13: 978-1501136467
  • Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books/Alloy Entertainment 
  • Release Date ~ February 14, 2017


Synopsis
{Amazon}

In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives. 

Laura Landry’s quarterback husband was her ticket out of Toulouse. But when a devastating football injury sidelines him, they’re forced to move back to the small town she was so desperate to leave. As Brian starts drinking instead of rehabbing his knee, Laura must reevaluate what her future looks like…and if it includes her husband.

For years, Madison Blanchette has been waiting for bad-boy musician Cash Romero to commit to her. When wealthy George Dubois asks her out, she figures she may as well wait in style. Life with George means weekend trips to New Orleans, gourmet meals, and expensive gifts. At first she loves how George’s affection sparks Cash’s jealousy, but when George proposes to Madison, she finds herself torn between two men…

All Claire Thibodeaux wants is to be the perfect wife and mother. If she can do everything right she won’t end up like her mom, a divorced, single parent trying to make ends meet. But when Claire’s husband Gavin, a well-respected local pastor, starts spending late nights at work and less time in their bed, she can’t help but fear that history is about to repeat itself…

Gabrielle Vaughn never thought she’d end up with someone like her fiancé. The son of a prominent congressman, Tony Ford is completely out of her league—which is why she lied to him about everything from having a college degree to the dark truth about her family. She knows she has to come clean, but how do you tell the love of your life that your entire relationship is a lie?

As these young wives come together to help each other through life, love, and heartbreak, they discover that there are no easy answers when it comes to matters of the heart.






The Young Wives Club by Julie Pennell is funny, enjoyable and a truly delightful read!

Ms. Pennell really did a wonderful job in writing this heart warming  story. It's engaging, creative, funny and sad all at the same time. The characters are realistic, resilient and lovable. I laughed, cried, cheered and smiled my way through this delightful book.   

I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of reading The Young Wives Club. If you like reading Women's Fiction ~ this book will definitely hit the mark! 

4.5 Stars

I received this book for free. A favorable review was not required and all views expressed are my own.  Thank you to Atria/Emily Bestler Books/Alloy Entertainment and Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review this book. 

No comments: